Macpherson Society

The teacher of the year award is presented each year at the Senior Banquet in May. Pictured at left is 1999's recipient, Jeffrey Cao, MD. 


To honor at least one faculty member of the School of Medicine who has demonstrated truly outstanding teaching talent and exceptional dedication to teaching. 


The candidate must be a full-time faculty member at Loma Linda University School of Medicine and must not have received this award in the past seven years.

Selection process:

The senior class of Loma Linda University School of Medicine provides a slate of eight names of faculty (four in the basic sciences and four in the clinical sciences) to the dean's office for consideration of this honor at least 60 days before the senior banquet. The president of WEMS or the president's advisor will serve as chair of the WEMS Teacher of the Year selection committee. The president, president-elect, past president and president's advisor shall be representatives from WEMS. The Associate Deans of Student Affairs and of Academic Affairs shall be voting members. The Dean of the School of Medicine shall be an ex officio member with a vote. 


The award is three-fold. A cash award amount will be determined by the executive/finance committee of WEMS, (subject to ratification by the board). The faculty member honored will receive a desk medallion and a photo engraving will be placed on the display board reserved for honored teachers outside of the Macpherson Student Learning Center.

Douglas R. Hegstad, MD, (80-A) (right) 1998 Teacher of the Year, hands over the special parking sign for Teacher of the Year, Jeffrey Cao, MD.

Teacher of the year, 1999, Jeffrey Cao, MD, receives the photo engraving that will be placed on the display board reserved for honored teachers outside the WEMS Learning Center. John. K. Testerman, MD, ('80-A) past president of WEMS made the presentation at the annual luncheon in March 2000.