The Department of Basic Sciences is organized into five faculty divisions: Biochemistry, Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biomedical Engineering Sciences. Faculty in each division work collaboratively to advance medical science and train the next generation of investigators through the Integrated Biomedical Graduate Studies Program.

Students in the graduate studies program may earn doctoral or master's degrees in:

Find more information about the graduate degree programs here.

Basic Sciences Faculty Divisions


Faculty in the Division of Biochemistry conduct research that is extensively cross-disciplinary, collaborating with other divisions within Basic Sciences, the Medical Center and the LLU campus, as well as with researchers at institutions throughout the world.
Learn More

Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

Faculty in the Division of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics study a diverse set of specialties ranging from emerging infections and drug-resistant microorganisms, to AIDS, to cancer. Microbiology is an exciting and dynamic area of the Biomedical Sciences that underpins much of the molecular biology and medical developments that are revolutionizing our lives.
Learn More


Faculty in Pharmacology teach pharmacology classes to students in the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health and Allied Health Professions. They have an integrative tradition of collaboration with researchers from other divisions and schools to support the mission of Loma Linda University.
Learn More


Faculty in the Division of Physiology investigate areas including perinatal biology, health disparities, neurosciences, cardiovascular science and cancer biology.
Learn More

Biomedical Engineering Sciences

Investigators within the Division of Biomedical Engineering Sciences are focused on characterizing the impact of radiation exposure on biological systems from both clinical and environmental perspectives.
Learn More