Anesthesiology Overview

An anesthesiologist is trained to provide pain relief and maintenance or restoration of a stable condition during and immediately following an operation or an obstetric or diagnostic procedure. The anesthesiologist assesses the risk of the patient undergoing surgery and optimizes the patient's condition prior to, during, and after surgery. In addition to these management responsibilities, the anesthesiologist provides medical management and consultation in pain management and critical care medicine. Anesthesiologists diagnose and treat acute, long-standing, and cancer pain problems; critical illnesses; and severe injuries. They also direct resuscitation in the care of patients with cardiac or respiratory emergencies, including the need for artificial ventilation, as well as supervise post anesthesia recovery.1

1 The American Board of Medical Specialties. Guide to Physician Specialties. Evanston, IL: American Board of Medical Specialties; February 2008.

Anesthesiology Faculty Advisors

Carin Mascetti CMascetti@llu.edu
Dr. Kristen Bandy KBandy@llu.edu
Harmony Carter HFCarter@llu.edu
Ryan Lauer RLauer@llu.edu
Michelle Woodfin MWoodfin@llu.edu

Pain Management Faculty Advisors

Hata, Justin JHata@llu.edu
Scott Strum SRStrum@llu.edu

Anesthesia Interest Group

President: Colin Garner

Vice President: Christine Lee

Secretary: Daniel Real

Treasurer: Jee Hwan (Kevin) Choi

AIG Rep: 

4th Year Rep: Daniel Lee

3rd Year Rep: Karissa Kunihira

2nd Year Rep: Elizabeth Hughes

1st Year Rep: Jason Hager

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Carin Mascetti