General Surgery Overview

A general surgeon has expertise in the diagnosis and care of patients with diseases and disorders affecting the abdomen, digestive tract, endocrine system, breast, skin, and blood vessels. A general surgeon is also trained in the care of pediatric and cancer patients and in the treatment of patients who are injured or critically ill. Common problems treated by general surgeons include hernias, breast tumors, gallstones, appendicitis, pancreatitis, bowel obstructions, colon inflammation, and colon cancer. General surgeons increasingly provide care through the use of minimally invasive and endoscopic techniques.1

1 The American Board of Medical Specialties. Guide to Physician Specialties. Evanston, IL: American Board of Medical Specialties; February 2008.

General Surgery Faculty Advisors

Richard Catalano RCatalan@llu.edu
Nephtali Gomez NRGomez@llu.edu
Mark Reeves MEReeves@llu.edu
Keith Scharf KScharf@llu.edu
Maheswari Senthil MSenthil@llu.edu
Naveenraj Solomon NSolomon@llu.edu
Edward Tagge ETagge@llu.edu
Esther Yung WYung@llu.edu

General Surgery Interest Group

President: Candice Kim

Vice President: Darnell Gordon

Resource Coordinator: Hazel Ezeribe

2nd Year Rep: Esther Choi

1st Year Rep: 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mark Reeves

General Surgery Office SIG Contact: Ruth O’Neill

Download the General Surgery Interest Group Constitution

Vascular Surgery Interest Group

President: 

Vice President: 

Secretary: 

4th Year Rep: 

1st Year Rep: 

Resident Advisor: 

Faculty Advisor: 

Download the Vascular Surgery Interest Group Constitution