General Surgery Overview

A general surgeon has expertise in the diagnosis and care of patients with diseases and disorders affecting the abdomen, digestive tract, endocrine system, breast, skin, and blood vessels. A general surgeon is also trained in the care of pediatric and cancer patients and in the treatment of patients who are injured or critically ill. Common problems treated by general surgeons include hernias, breast tumors, gallstones, appendicitis, pancreatitis, bowel obstructions, colon inflammation, and colon cancer. General surgeons increasingly provide care through the use of minimally invasive and endoscopic techniques.1

1 The American Board of Medical Specialties. Guide to Physician Specialties. Evanston, IL: American Board of Medical Specialties; February 2008.

General Surgery Faculty Advisors

 
Dr. Sigrid Buruss sburruss@llu.edu
Dr. Kristyn Mannoia kmannoia@llu.edu
Dr. Jukes Namm jpnamm@llu.edu
Dr. Naveen Solomon nsolomon@llu.edu
Dr. Esther Yung wyung@llu.edu

General Surgery Interest Group 2021-2022

President: Paul Kim

Vice President: Emily Gunderson

Resource Coordinators: Andrew Folkerts and Marc Abou Assali

MS4 Reps: Jonathan Lee and Matthew Reeves

MS3 Reps: Rachel Scales

MS2 Reps: Andrea Edmeade and John Hartman

MS1 Reps: Alex Bouterse and Zion Shih

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jukes Namm

Download the General Surgery Interest Group Constitution

 

Vascular Surgery Faculty Advisor

Dr. Sharon Kiang skiang@llu.edu
Dr. Kristyn Mannoia kmannoia@llu.edu 
Dr. Allen Murga amurga@llu.edu